MO - cap cost reduction tax - 2024 Subaru Solterra

Hi, I am new to leasing. I am looking for a 2024 Subaru Solterra Limited, 36 months/12,000 miles/63146.

I was told by one local dealer that I need to pay tax upfront on the $7500 EV tax credit. How much this is true? I couldn’t find any article regarding paying tax upfront on cap cost reduction for EV credit.

“in MO you are required to pay what is called a cap cost reduction tax for the tax credit. It may differ in other states, but all Subaru dealers in MO have to abide by that as well.”

I am also interested in what money factor, residual value, and credits should I be looking for this vehicle.

Thank you

The 7500 is not a ‘tax credit’ on leasing, it’s an Incentive. And Incentives are taxable in many states.

There’s a whole thread here on the difference, but basically when you lease you get an incentive from 0 to $7500. Not a tax credit.

On purchases it’s a tax credit (and the Solterra doesn’t qualify for a purchase tax credit)

As I said I am new to leasing. I am not sure about this $7500 wording about tax credit or incentive. I shopped at other dealers (Subaru, Nissan, Hyundai) and they didn’t mention about paying this tax at signing. That’s the cause of confusing.

Here’s my summary from the EQS thread. The $7,500 lease credit is usually taxable.

However, some dealerships may allow the tax amount to be capitalized and amortized over the lease instead of paid at signing.

2 Likes

Most dealers don’t know how taxes work, you find that out when you hit the finance office.
But Taxes are not something a dealership can ‘make up’, it’s regulated.

I did an indepth review of recent contracts and found
1 out of 5 charged taxes…and that was a Merc, and 3 of the other 4 that did not were mercs.

So your state should NOT charge taxes and that dealer is wrong. (or trying to rip you off)

Have you looked at the BZ4X? It’s the same car as the Solterra and will most likely be cheaper.

2 Likes