Isn't total payments the only thing that matters?

Newbie here so bear with me…but why does the sales price, residual and/or money factor matter at all?

Doesn’t it all just come down to getting the lowest total payments to use the vehicle for 3 years?

I’ve been offered $0 down and $289 a month for Tacoma Off Road V6. For a vehicle with a $37000 MSRP that seems like a decent monthly price. Especially compared to other $37K vehicles where $0 down leases are more like in the $350/month range (like a CX5).

Am I missing something?? I could see the calculator inputs being important to compare different leases but even for that, doesn’t the lowest monthly payment for same term/mileage/deposit always win?

:popcorn:

:bat:

6 Likes

You sound like the sales manager at Honda we encountered a few months ago.

The monthly payment can hide a lot of numbers if you don’t know what you’re doing.

knowing the incentives, residuals, money factors, sales price, dealer fees, and government fees can help you get the lowest monthly payment possible by having transparency.

Knowing how a number is generated is critical to the leasing process. Folks who don’t know all the numbers usually end up paying more than they should be and the Dealership makes a larger profit than they would have, otherwise. Good for the business, bad for the consumer’s pocket.

So you think 289 a month with 0 DAS is good for a 37k dollar Tacoma… I would present this argument to you… if you didn’t know what made up that payment and what kind of discounts are possible or what the incentives are, would you not have accepted anything between 289 and 400 a good payment, otherwise?

If 289 is a baseline for a “good” payment on this vehicle, then how did the dealer get there? Is it reproduceable? How much discount do you need to get? Gotta know how the numbers break out.

6 Likes

Sure, just blindly payment shop without knowing or understanding what goes into it.

Good luck!

3 Likes