Broker or dealer?

Deleting thread deleting thread deleting thread

4 Likes

I think it’s personal preference. Some people like the challenge of getting a good deal. Others would rather pay someone else to do it. The broker makes it easy for you… eliminates the back and fourth of having to find the deal in the first place. Plus they have access to more cars and have pre-built relationships with dealers. For some people that’s more than enough. There are lots of decent brokers on this forum… Reading the reviews really helped me, also seeing how the broker responded, and their communication style was also helpful for me. I’m a consultant by trade, so I Think I automatically look for these things when establishing relationships. I wouldn’t let one bad experience sour your experience with brokers… If you felt like the deal wasn’t going your way, you could’ve walked away, perhaps this is a lesson learned for the future. Bottom line; if you feel empowered to get the deal on your own then more power to you. If you want it simplify the process and still get a killer deal, use a broker.

1 Like

First off, very good of you to stick with the broker even though you felt you could have cut them out at one point.

Brokers don’t claim to waive a magic wand for amazing, unattainable prices to appear.

People use brokers for two reasons: Convenience and Pricing.

Some folks do not have the time or know-how to determine if they’re getting a great deal. Many members here do and they’re incredibly successful in their hunts.

The beauty of a public forum where brokers and non-brokers share numbers, is that consumers can go and chase their own deals after seeing what is achievable. Or, they can choose not to and pay for convenience.

I could spend 5 hours before winter performing my fall cleanup, but I would rather pay someone $300 to do it much faster than I can. And frankly, I hate raking leaves. This argument is relevant for many things.