August/September 2017 Leasing

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to leasing but have been reading the forum and doing some research. I want to lease a new sedan or SUV for around $250/mnth with at least 12,000 miles/yr. I am open to several cars, but my current favorites are the Mazda6, CX-5, BMW X1, Hyundai Tuscon, QX30. In any car, though, I would like a fair amount of options (leather, adaptive CC, etc) I’ve read that some makes lease better than others, so hoping to get some guidance on where to start. Also, I live in New York and have read that dealers in other states like NJ or CT maybe better to lease from. Any suggestions on deals this month or next, when to go, what brands to start at would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Do you know the RV/MF/incentives of any of the cars in your list? How’d you come up with a budget of $250 for those? You might be able to get the Mazda or Hyundai, but if fully loaded, even those won’t fit into your budget. Forget about the others as they definitely won’t.

Thank for the reply, Jon. The number comes from what I’m comfortable paying every month (not related to any specific vehicle). I have never leased and I have owned used cars with no payments in the past. I don’t know what the dealers are offering as far as incentives. I’m wondering what is best out there currently and/or where to start.

Start by doing research. Understand what leasing is and how it works. Learn how to calculate leases. Then research the cars you like and calculate yourself the realistic prices you should expect to pay for each vehicle in your region. Just because 2 cars have similar MSRPs doesn’t mean they will lease for the same price.

If this sounds like too much for you, hire a broker.

1 Like