2024 Dodge Hornet, Hyundai Tucson PHEV ETC

Newbie here and was using the leasehackr calculator to try and get a score on this “special lease” a local PA Dodge dealership has advertised on a 2024 Dodge Hornet R/T, TOTAL MSRP $46,615. The terms are $3k out of pocket, on a 24/10 w/ pretax monthly payment of $344. I did some research from another site to get some information with regards to leasing this vehicle to try and determine if it’s a decent deal. The numbers I worked with (and I admit I do not know if they are 100% accurate) were:

.00368 MF
65% residual
$6000 incentives

After plugging them into the calculator, entering the MSRP and adjusting the selling price it looks like this.

Could this be an accurate way to assess the lease? Sort of working a bit backwards to figure out if it’s a fair deal?

Thanks for reading.

Theres no need to try to reverse engineer this deal.

Work out what a good deal actually is and then you have an easy comparison point to judge this by.

1 Like
  1. LH calculator scores are meaningless when the MSRP is completely meaningless. Especially CJDR vehicles. Does anyone look at a friggin Dodge and think it should cost the same as a BMW?

2. Unless you’re leaving the country or entering a nursing home in 3 years, you need to look beyond the immediate lease. What happens next? How do you replace this vehicle with another one?

Look at 72 month horizons and compare multiple successive leases to financing.

Quick math suggests this lease has a 72m equivalence of around $36,000 in payments and 0 equity. How does that compare to the equity of owning a Honda CRV or Hyundai Tucson etc?

Thank you for the insightful perspective, I appreciate it.