Toyota Yaris iA in NJ/PA/MA

Greetings! I’m new to the lease game, and after reading a few comments over at Slickdeals, I found this forum and I started educating myself. I financed my last (used) car, and after all has been said and done, with maintenance etc, I have been spending more than $400/month, with no end in sight (car is approaching 100k miles, so timing belt is next, and who knows what). So my wife and I have been considering leasing.

I’ve been calling dealerships for a Toyota Yaris iA, and the best they can do on a 12k/36 with $3k down is $140/month. It’s a $18k car, so I was hoping to get a deal below $100, but I’m definitely doing something wrong. I’m willing to travel out of state (I live in NJ) to get a good deal, but I understand that registering a car out of state is more expensive, because they have to send an agent to the NJ DMV, and I would have to go to the dealership twice: to sign the paperwork and to pick up the car. Any suggestions for a newbie?

Thank you,
Joe

Look at different cars and manufacturers. Scour dealer websites for the specials they run. Get rebates lined up for each car via edmunds and residual and money factor. Once you get all information then you can start your search. Look at some of the deals here. You can do better than yaris for 140 a month and 3000 down.

Thank you! I’ve been looking at different cars and all online reviews, comparisons, etc for subcompact cars point at the iA as the “best bang for your buck” in that price range. That’s why I decided to settle on this model. I don’t qualify for college or military rebates. However I’ll go back to Edmunds to look for more rebates and RV/MF. I know I can do better than 140 / month :slight_smile: I’m trying to follow the advice in this video - http://bigthink.com/videos/how-to-buy-a-car-using-game-theory-2

Best,
Joe

Don’t forget the down payment. It’s more like 220 per month in reality

Have you checked out the Cruze deal on the front page of LH?