Short term solution lease vs buy vs takeover through SAL,LT

Hi everyone I’m a newbie to the forum with a definitive need for a larger car for the next 12 months. I’m probably moving States in the next 12 months or so and will have different needs and don’t want a long term lease. I have great credit and access to the cash to buy if necessary. I’m interested in a 3 row suv and have been looking at the VW Atlas, Ford Expedition, Lincoln navigator, Audi q7.

We don’t really need all 7 seats but will generally have 2 car seats and are trying for the best solution for 3 adults and two babies in car seats.

My initial inclination was to do a lease takeover on a VW Atlas, which seemed to be possible on SAL or LT but it doesn’t seem like I’m seeing as many deals as I wanted . it also seems like you don’t know what kind of liabilities or true condition of the vehicle that you’re inheriting through someone else’s lease. I’m trying to find a lease that is under 18 months so I can get a new car as my needs change, and I think that will occur in about 12 months or so.

Alternatively I’m also wondering about and reviewing the deals that are available through Hertz right now as they scramble to sell cars. It seems like their pricing is pretty competitive for purchasing. Would welcome feedback or experience sharing in SAL and LT.

So just to clarify… you have great credit history in the US, but you’re moving (back) here?

Yes. I have great credit. I moved from NYC to California. I don’t plan on staying in California and will likely move to Texas in the next 24 months.

Leasing in Texas is difficult due to taxation on selling price. There are tax credits, and other ways you can continue to lease in Texas. However, if you look at short term transfers, look at their grounding dates (note you will have to pay disposition if you don’t get another car from that brand), and effective miles per month.

Whatever you do, don’t get a former rental.