Setting a standard for Broker use of rebates in advertisements

I know that I’m new to brokering here, but I am a longtime member and this has always annoyed me. It’s become even more of an annoyance since starting to broker.

I see other brokers posting prices for cars with a monthly that is very low because they are stacking in a ridiculous amount of incentives of which almost no one would qualify for all of them.

I view this forum as a place to be free of annoying dealer like tactics. We’re all here to add transparency to the leasing process. Incentive stacking and then playing the “you don’t qualify for this” game is dealership nonsense that I think has no place here. Especially not when it’s an unrealistic stack.

Personally, I think all brokers should be advertising monthly’s only with incentives that there are no qualifications for, and then simply list what people can add if they qualify. I kind of get it with the BMW crowd, it might be safe to assume loyalty there, but elsewhere, it’s not as easy to assume what people would qualify for.

It is very annoying as a broker to have to explain to a newer user why the $350 price they saw on someone else’s spreadsheet isn’t actually going to be $350 for them.

That’s my .2c for this evening.

19 Likes

Like most in the business, there’s a domino effect where if one broker/dealer offers a car at a very low rate, inclusive of all available rebates, the rest need to follow suit in order to appear competitive. So it’d have to be a situation where everyone adheres to the same standard of posting, or some sort of hybrid where something like loyalty alone may be included, but not VPP/Corporate or a 1st responder discount, etc.

1 Like

Yes, including first responder discounts as standard is a bit ridiculous.

Personally, I refuse to do it.

I used to include conquest, I don’t even do that now.