RAV4 prime PHEV lease and buy out

I’m looking to buy a 2024 rav 4 prime in MA. There are no rebates for purchase but if I lease I can get a $6500 rebate off msrp. For the sake of discussion let’s say msrp is 47k and with the rebate it is $40,500. If I were to lease the car and then buy it out 3 weeks later will my payoff amount be $40,500 less any lease payments? I’ve never done this before so just want to make sure I’m not missing anything.

It seems too good to be true that for jumping through one hoop I can save $6500 off the purchase price. Has anyone done this? Is it really this easy?

1 Like

Then your payoff within the first month will be that plus the lease acq fee.

If you wait longer, your payoff will only decrease by a portion of the lease payment, not by all of it.

Search the forum. All this was discussed in detail.

Yes. Easy to do. Just lease it and call Toyota for a lease payoff and you can buyout.

Ive read through the forums and they all get so convoluted with specific details and options. Also I have not been able to find a post with anyone’s actual buyout contract.

I would also have trade in that would bring down the $40500 to about $37,500 and then of course the ancillary fees and taxes that go on top. I have a $38,160 bottom line lease number from my dealer right now inclusive of acquisition and doc fee now so in reality would this be be my buyout (plus tax) Doe the trade in reduce the buyout price?

I just wanted to make sure I fully understand this. It seems crazy that if I just “lease” the car then buy it out cash a couple weeks later I can save 5-6K pending fees I would not pay had I just gone with a straight buyout at the $47K number. Attached is what I have from the dealer

You posted yesterday under a different handle

That was a buddy of mine helping me out. I was not part of leasehackr so he jumped in. I figured I would take the conversation back so I could stop bothering him. This forum is a huge help