Please give advise and try not to roll your eyes 2020 Corolla lease for mom

I’m new to all of this but I fell down a rabbit hole researching as much watching videos taking notes trying to understand how to get a good lease price. I am helping my mom get a lease after having her 99 Saturn for 21 years. She’s super frugal and I really want to help save her some $. She wants a 2020 Corolla LE and I do know there are better or less expensive leases on other sedans but she’s set on this car, and she’s Sicilian stubborn lol. Now I have spent so much time reading and watching videos on leases that I think I confused myself more… I understand the lease calculations and everything but now that we have the car picked out and are ready to start negotiations I am second guessing myself on what to negotiate, what price I want, what are reasonable expectations… so help me please! I want to start emailing dealerships but what am I asking for? Do I start by trying to get them to lower MSRP (before incentives) and then figure out the lease price? Or there are 2 lease deals on Toyota’s website

Do I work off of these deals and try to get them to lower fees? Or some people on reddit’s ask a salesperson say these deals are usually “rock bottom” deals so am I hoping for too much by trying to negotiate them lower? Any advice would be helpful to me. I’m just a gal trying to get her great mom a good deal!!
Here’s the other information I have, I am in Wisconsin
MSRP 21,254
Money factor .00009
Residual value 59%
Manufacturer incentives 1000 off and 600 off
All this information came from the dealership when we test drove
edit to add mom also has bangin credit over 800 and is looking for a 10k lease

1. Get off Reddit immediately.
  2. Read Leasing 101. All of it.
  3. Read this entire thread. And stop looking at dealer ads or manufacturer offers, it’s a waste of time.

Then come back.

Or just go on the marketplace forum and pick out a pre-made broker/dealer deal.

6 Likes