New (to order) build BMW, how aggressive can I be?

Thread title should explain. I’m considering this option to obtain a color I can’t seem to get out of my head and while it’s stupid and crazy for our purpose to shop the car and not the deal, I want my cake and eat it too!

So for the most part I’m well versed on shrewd negotiation when it comes to either new but aged, unloved, or otherwise used (loaner) inventory concerning BMW’s but haven’t seen much talk of expectations or possibilities when talking about builds to order.

Ideas? Input?

2 Likes

Which model?

440i or xi Convertible.

1 Like

I have no first hand experience with this but I feel like it should be a good discount. It is almost a guaranteed sale (unless you back out). They order a car that they would have ordered anyway (likely) and when it arrives it is sold. But again I never did this.

Just an option you could always get a car with the interior match then wrap your car, would save you some money probably also save the car from scratches etc… just another option if your not getting a good deal on the build

1 Like

If you’re ordering a custom build, you’ll find some dealers are only willing to sell it to you at invoice (about 6% off purchase price). If you shop around in person you’ll find dealers that like to go for volume and sell cars that will be willing to discount 10-11%. For the best deal you’d want to order towards the end of the year when dealers are trying to meet their numbers, though I haven’t seen higher than 12% (yet) on a custom build.

Also keep in mind if it’s not a popular color dealers will proceed with caution since if the deal falls through they’ll have to sell the car themselves, so they might build that risk into the deal.

4 Likes

You’d think that but unfortunately it’s not the case. Dealers usually will offer better deals on in-stock cars.

1 Like