Negotiating sales price - questions - Truecar

So I am a bit new to buying and leasing new cars. Usually, have bought used cars, and have a better sense of the market value of these cars, thanks to online resources, etc.

The problem with new cars, is that there is a very opaque pricing structure. That is to say, there is MSRP, invoice and the price the dealer will actually sell the car for.

I understand with leasing, you first negotiate the price, then subtract the incentives add other fees etc. to get the adjusted cap cost. The residual and money factor then go into the lease price.

I am just wondering what is the best way to get the best price. I’ve looked at Truecar for some of the pricing. Is the Truecar price fair? Often times, it seems some better deals are posted on the website.

Sometimes, I’ve seen some incredible deals here in terms of negotiated price, less than invoice on BMWs, Mercedes etc. These prices are better than the truecar price.

My question is simply, what is the best way to get there. I hate the back and forth nonsense. Should one just be upfront and say can you match this price I saw on leasehackr, or is there some game to play to get there?

Also, what do you do with dealers who are like come in and we can talk about it. I just don’t have the time to deal with them. Should I just say sorry.

Thanks

As I understand it

The best way is to read many of the posts in this forum. Learn what the going cash to dealer rebates are as well as invoice. Then negotiate from a position of knowledge.

I just look for specials on the dealer website. Then, you can back into how much of the discount is purchase only incentives to get an idea of how much the actual discount is. Sometimes their website is very clear about purchase incentives and sometimes they are not.

The specials are usually vehicles that have been on the lot too long and they need to move them.

1 Like