Kia EV6 Lease Early Buyout option

, ,

I’m trying to lease EV6 with $7500 tax credit, then exercise early buyout after the first payment. This is my first time getting my own car, and of course first time leasing.

I have read this reddit post, and trying to understand small bits. Is there anything in the contract that I would need to pay a close attention to see if I will be responsible for any unearned rent charges when early buyout? Can Kia’s lease contract differ between dealerships, so the advices from the reddit post may not apply in terms of early buyout?

I wrote that post, what all do you wanna know?

• No rent charges on the buyout. It’s in the contract.

• The contract doesn’t vary between dealerships. Like I said in the post, some states do require a dealer for you to do a buyout.

3 Likes

The biggest thing to keep an eye on is that your buyout paperwork itemizes the taxes paid

1 Like

Great to see you here! Your post was incredibly helpful understanding some of the details.

I’m planning to head off to the dealership, and sign the contract there. I actually was reading those contract sections you posted, asking chatgpt to give me simpler explanation… It was very difficult for me to understand what it exactly means.

I’m just trying to make sure that I’ll be able to exercise early buyout without paying for the remaining rent charges. So if there was any chance that this dealership would give me a different contract or updated clauses, I would want to understand them on the scene.

I am based in California, and CA wasn’t in the list you posted :slight_smile:

This is not an issue and honestly the last thing you should be worried about.

I have seen hundreds of these contracts and Hyundai/Kia dealers are pure scum. I have seen them sneak in $6000 in warranties in the paperwork. Watch out for agreed upon value actually matching what you agreed upon and get rid of any extra addons like $300 Nitrogen and $1500 Perma plate that is “non negotiable”.