End of Lease - Should I replace brakes and rotors?

I am scheduling my inspection soon for my end of lease return. How do the inspectors determine the brakes and rotors wear and tear? During my lease, I have replaced my rear brakes/calipers/pads/rotors once. I have not done a replacement on my front rotors and brakes, and I am worried that I might be charged by the car manufacturer for more $$$ than the actual cost of the replacement. The car is in great condition and everything SEEMS fine - although I am not a mechanic. I see some rust on my front rotors and the car doesn’t vibrate too much when I brake. If the inspector says everything is fine, should I be worried about a bill for brakes/rotors from the leasing company after returning the car?

Thanks!

You shouldn’t have to replace brakes and rotors during the term of a standard lease, yet alone twice!

3 Likes

Yeah, sumpthinsup. My Jetta w/ 300K miles has OG brakes.( and plugs, everything OG but fluids, tires and filters).

1 Like

They won’t notice

Og brakes after 300k miles?
Excuse Me Mtv Vmas 2017 GIF by 2019 MTV Video Music Awards

9 Likes

I don’t stop. (Seriously, 95 percent highway commute miles with almost no braking, until I hit surface streets for a few miles)

2 Likes

This has to be a joke.

3 Likes

All of my content is a joke. Cept when it isn’t. I have yet to do a brake job on it, but wife says the occasional EPC light that pops up tells me I need plugs at minimum, possibly a walnut shell intake blast at worse.

2 Likes

What kind of car needed two sets of brakes over the course of a lease?

2 Likes

whats your overage per mile .15 cents or .25? Can you pre-pay

The 2015 Jetta was a buy, Penfed was about 310/mo on a 72, iirc. It’s at 298K miles now, but due to no time to address the EPC light (limp mode) I’ve been commuting in the 4xE, and have already put 30K miles on it.

2 Likes