Deal Check - Volvo C40 Recharge or Kia EV6

These are the initial numbers the dealer came to me with. I didn’t negotiate anything back yet. The car has been on their lot more than 200 days it said. Think they could do better on anything/where could I negotiate? I’m kind of new to this. Let me know if there’s any other information I can provide that would help in your analysis. This is located in zip code 60123 if that helps.

200 Days?

Ask for $350 / 2k

This car is currently in the mid $400s

2 Likes

You could probably get a Mercedes EQB or EQE for this kinda money, maybe even a iX or EQS.

Or you could save a ton by getting an ID4, Ioniq, Ariya, or Niro.

Either way why get the C40?

3 Likes

My local Volvo store is selling a barely used one for $37k CPO.
https://www.scottcars.com/certified/Volvo/2023-Volvo-C40+Recharge+Pure+Electric-8b0c6da10a0e094a3ae4ccbda8f1e1bd.htm

2 Likes

Yeah I just sent him some sample deals to show what they’re really going for

Not a big fan of the way the Ariya or Ioniq5/6 look tbh. The 2024 ID.4 is supposed to be vastly improved over the 2023, so might wait for that if the Volvo doesn’t work out. I previously test drove an EV6 Wind AWD (with tech package), but the dealers were barely willing to negotiate at all on those. Which is funny considering all the Kia dealers near me have tons of them sitting on lots, many for a long time

That’s the amateur way, he will find a way to rip you off.

Just tell him how much you want to pay and how much cash. Like $350/2k. and let HIM come back with a number

1 Like

Yeah he was just like “The numbers on leasehacker and truecar might not show all the incentives and might not include tax and fees. Told him the ones most people put on leasehackr do and it’s close to what truecar lists. Then told him id do $450/2k, but he was unwilling to counter. I’ll see if another dealer would be willing to. Fortunately I’m not in any type of hurry.

1 Like