Deal Check: 2024 BMW iX xdrive50 lease in Oregon

, ,

Hi guys please review and let me know if this is a good deal. I have never leased before so I’m not 100% sure.

Sell price: $95,530
Adjusted price: $78,877
Residual: $50,631
Money Factor: .0005
Three year lease
12,000 miles/year
Down: $7000, Total due at signing.
Monthly payment with $7k down: $729

Yes, it’s a lot to put down I know but that gives me the monthly payment I want.

Am I forgetting anything?

Thank you!

Bill H.

That is entirely the wrong way to think about the down payment. Do not anchor yourself to a certain monthly payment. You are really paying 950 a month for this.

1 Like

Thank you for the reply. I’m new at leasing, how do you figure $950?

Is this 7k down or 7k total due at signing?

Thank you for the reply. Total due at signing. Post updated to reflect this.

Because the down payment has value. You could have nothing down or only taxes and fees and use the difference to pay the payments

Basically everyone who goes with the mindset of putting x amount down to achieve Y payment is likely making a bad move or misunderstanding the situation.

1000 in down payment is roughly equal to 30/mo so 7k upfront is roughly 210/mo of value for most leases

2 Likes

Ahh, I see how you got there. Thank you.
That is not something I considered, I’m new at this and you bring up a very good point.

1 Like

Payment numbers make it easy to get distracted from the total lease cost, which is really the financial decision you’re making.

When I start shopping, I know in advance that I’m willing to spend $X over the entire term (including upfronts).

Finding the right car, deal and lease structure are separate exercises.

3 Likes

It could be 99/mo if you wanted to put enough down, simply put, which obviously isn’t advisable.

2 Likes

That is true. All else being equal, how does the deal look? Thank you .

Post your best attempt at the LH calculator.

Thank you, this is the best I can do.

1 Like