Deal check: 2021 X3 M40i in MD

, ,

Received this quote recently. I’m new to the game but have been reading a lot the last couple weeks. I am looking for clarity on the line items “Cap Fees”, “Cap Taxes” and how they relate to Gross Cap Cost in addition to if this is even a favorable deal. I’ve seen others post deals for this ride with monthly’s in the 6s and even 5s…are those realistic?

10.25% pre rebates w base MF is a very respectable deal

777/month for a 36/12 w no rebates outside of lease cash

The math works -

Taxes oof

As @mllcb42 would say what were your goals when you went into the offer? And, would further realistic negotiation get you to your target?

1 Like

Yea this deal looks good.

As mentioned the awful MD taxes are what really makes this higher than other X3’s deals you may have seen, but you’re also doing only first month payment up front, no MSD’s, and 12k miles. So it’s apples to oranges.

Most of the deals you see advertised from brokers will be without tax, 10k miles, full MSD’s, and all fees and first month DAS.

If I plug this exact same deal into the calculator and remove the tax and make those tweaks, I get roughly $580/mo + $2400 DAS + $4200 MSD’s.

You know I can’t really say what my goals were other than psychologically having a monthly in the 6s for this. To be fair this dealer clarified that offer rolled doc fees, reg, acq etc into the cap. So paying those up front knocked it down to 740/mo.

This will actually be registered in DC, where it appears taxes of 10.25% are assessed on the monthly payment. I assume the dealer knew this when making this worksheet, but I really don’t know. Perhaps I should confirm.

As it is I need to maintain as much liquidity as possible for a business acquisition next year, so while I’m not against paying some money DAS, I’d much rather avoid MSDs.

Totally understood

This is a good deal for this car based on the rebates you qualify for, mileage, and taxes.