Damaged bumper on my lease I want to buy out. Would I need to repair to sell?

My 2019 Acura MDX lease is ending in April. I have been contemplating buying it out and keeping for a few months while I wait to find something else or when inventory or better lease options improve. I have been going back and forth on extending or buying our low mileage like new condition lease. Unfortunately I recently damaged the front left bumper and it’s surprsingly more than we thought in repair costs. It was only a minor bump in a stone wall. They don’t make cars like they used to but I digress lol
I do not want to go through insurance to repair. I spoke with Acura AFS on my options and moving forward on repair, what to expect on return etc. So we are going to have it fixed by our repair shop with OEM if available out of pocket.
But I was wondering if we would be able to sell the car, as is, if we buy it out? If we return it as is, we would probably pay more on repair through Acura
I know the resale value be affected. So should we buy, repair, then sell? Or buy, then sell as is? Or repair and return at lease end? It has about 5000 equity after paying sales tax right now and the repair costs will eat up most of that.
What’s your opinion?

Do you mind sharing a pic of the damage? And the repair shop that gave you a quote was your usual shop, or an Acura dealer?

1 Like

I haven’t taken any pics yet. We had 3 estimates from very good and high rated repair shops in our area. All have same estimate. We did not get estimate from dealer. We will use the shop we have used over the years. They are honest and do excellent work and use oem where available so parts fit.
It’s the bumper and fog or running
light I have to replace and spotted possible buckle underneath near tire. Didn’t effect the head light thank goodness.