Car Broker Etiquette

Thinking about going through a car broker to help me get a lease. Is it bad etiquette to shop different car brokers around the area to see who can give me the better deal. I’m new to the car buying/leasing world. Thank you

1 Like

How would they know you’re shopping around unless you mention it. I would think they would assume you are anyway.

3 Likes

Find a broker that charges you a fee instead of the dealer . This way they will fight for every dime

8 Likes

Just curious why. If the broker already has your money, how much incentive he or she has to fight for you? Vs someone who hasn’t been Paid?

The brokers that charge the dealer can make as much money as they can depending on the client .

The broker that charges you is a consumer advocate .

7 Likes

How does a customer know a broker isn’t take money from both sides?

5 Likes

That’s a good point. You wouldn’t really know. You just have to trust your instincts.

Brokers are never the cheapest way to go . Just very convenient. I know some very shady brokers in LA who charge 1000s on every deal

5 Likes

Not that I take from both sides but why do you care if brokers do? Never get just one quote, that includes brokers, dealers, plumbers, mortgages, even amazon prices can be beat most of the time if you shop around.

Go with whoever you feel most comfortable with, whoever is cheapest or hopefully they check off both those boxes. As long as you’re getting the best deal you can find it doesn’t matter how much someone makes.