Can't decide whether to lease or buy

Hey Hackers, I have a conundrum I can’t resolve…
I was recently pre-qualified for the Replace Your Ride incentive (7500 for plugin hybrid or electric, 5000 for regular high efficiency car). I am a low income resident.

At the moment I am considering a fully electric vehicle but can’t decide which one. At this moment if I had to decide, I would outright purchase a Hyundai Ioniq battery electric (price of $30k odd). I would get 7500 from RYR, 4500 from CVRP (state) 7500 from federal rebate and any other Hyundai incentives (college grad, uber driver, competitive owner and boostup).

The thing is that Ioniq battery electrics have had a recall and no one is selling them. All the other electric vehicles are pretty expensive (except for ford focus electric).

On the other hand, maybe I should lease? I could get the total lease paid for (with my incentives). But the thing about this is that I put down for a Tesla model 3 and my place is maybe 300,000th, so I would get it probably 2018 end or start of 2019. So I would want to have the lease for about a year and change and then switch to the model 3.

Maybe it would make sense to sell the model 3 when I get it? I dunno.

I have about 3 weeks to decide, else the RYR incentive will be invalid. Anybody got any thoughts on this?

I’d bail on the Model 3. At 300,00 on the list you’ll be lucky to see one by 2025, by then you can grab one on the secondary market.

I think you have answers to lot of ur questions :slight_smile: . Ioniq is too new and first in electric lineup from hyundai so get ready to be surprised. If you want something cheap and wouldnt mind 500$ a month out of your pocket , go for it.
you can always finance and trade it in if u have too many problems.

Regarding tesla 3 , it will be one in many electric cars in 2019 ish… since there are quite a few in lineups by late 2018 - 2019 , list below.
1 ) Jag I pace
2) Merc has a release in early 2020
3) Audi has Q8 full suv