Audi financial is keeping my lease equity after total loss

So long story short, my Audi etron was declared a total loss, and Progressive sent the value of the car to Audi financial instead of me. When I called Audi FS to ask when I’m going to get the equity value back, they said I won’t because they own the car and I said ok I want to exercise the buy option and they said sorry your account has been closed and that I’m SOL.

Do I have any recourse here?

Edit:

• Thanks everyone for the responses. I am a relative lease noob and I think historically having huge amounts of lease equity is an anomaly as right now it’s a historic inflationary thing so my research before I posted the issue didn’t really match my situation albeit I could have tried harder. But I think the conclusion is that in all/most leases a total loss results in payment being made to the lease co and I wouldn’t have had a chance to buy the car anyway (without committing insurance fraud, etc.). Let me know if this is incorrect.

• I was further confused because my insurance wrote me this when I asked for the settlement payout:

Good morning,
VW credit request we send the whole settlement amount to them and they will issue you the difference. Payment has been issued to them in the amount of $64,610.04 and was issued on July 8,2022.

• Lastly, the car accident was with an LAPD undercover cop car who T-boned my wife’s car while he was turning right at an intersection (I wasn’t in the car). The cop claims it was my wife’s fault because she ran a red. My wife says she ran a yellow. Just giving context that it’s still up in the air on who’s fault it is. If insurance says it’s it was LAPD’s fault, I will pursue legal action to get the value of my lease equity since I did lose out on that option and can’t replace the car at the same price given the insane car market right now.
1 Like

The only one is try to sue, but hopefully that doesn’t cost you more than it’s worth.