Additional Installed Equipment: I call bullsh*t

, ,

I am not a newbie by any stretch, as this will be my 5th lease transaction. If and when I’ve weeded through these shyster dealers. So with this latest communication, I have to call absolute BS. But perhaps I am mistaken?

“The equipment you have asked to be removed has come from the manufacturer, it it attached to the VIN of the vehicle and is not an option added by our dealership.” Really? A cargo mat, carpeted floor mats, cargo net, cargo cover and wheel locks are ALL attached to the VIN of the vehicle, to the tune of $510? This reeks identically to the $45 First Aid Kit and $300 Marketing & Promotion charges Hyundai tried to swindle me out of 3 years ago before I walked.

When I leased my Honda Civic in 2010, the dealer at the time told me that I had to spring for mud flaps which were already installed, but never requested by me in advance when I started the negotiations. So my response was, “Take them off, I didn’t ask for them. Do you need a screwdriver, because if so I have one right here we can use.” So they just left them on and removed their overpriced line item cost in the lease deal.

What is the straight dope here? Can dealers require buyers/leasers to pay for “Additional Installed Equipment”?

I don’t know anything about KIA, now known as KN, but on a BMW you can absolutely have accessories ordered with the car, that are shown on the window sticker and are part of the MSRP.

As a matter of fact, “cargo mat, carpeted floor mats, cargo net, cargo cover and wheel locks” all sound like things one could order on a BMW and have included on the sticker. I mean it’s simple, look at the original window sticker and see if it’s there. BMW even has a first aid kit.

You’re coming off as very angry, just fyi.

4 Likes

Of course I’m angry, duh! Do you like to be ripped off?

I think you should take car sales less personally

5 Likes