2022 Tesla Model Y, Lease vs Buy, No buyback option

Hello folks, complete newbie here. I have two options to choose from.

1. Lease or 2. Buy. (Also deciding to push delivery off to 2022 for possible tax credit).

This is for business use so perhaps that may factor in.

The model Y has no buyout options, so the car HAS to be returned at the end of the lease.

If I were to buy, I’ll be getting 2.49% through Tesla partners, but I can manage a much lower rate through other avenues.

Once again, appreciate any help, and apologies for breaking the rules, there are far too many, I tried!

1 Like

buy it in 2022

That’s what I’m leaning towards. With that in mind, is the lease breakdown above considered decent? Or am I getting fleeced?

No tax credit if you lease.

2 Likes

There is no choice to be had here. Leasing leaves you with no good way out and will cost you thousands of dollars more than purchasing.

5 Likes

So the total lease cost is about $30k, that is unlikely as depreciation on the Model Y in the next 3 years, so I guess you’re right.

Yes, taking that into account. Also, not even sure if there is going to be any credit at all.

You’re rolling the dice until BBB passes or dies in the Senate. Most likely we’ll know in the next 3 weeks (they have to also deal with the debt ceiling), but nobody knows what (if anything) will pass in its current form.

Unless your CPA tells you that your business can only write off a lease and not a purchase, leasing a Tesla is never the correct option. And even then, keep in mind what you’re giving up by leasing it.

Thanks, yes, I am trying to consider all implications.

But could you elaborate a bit on ‘why leasing a tesla is never the correct option’?

Thank you.

Can’t sell it to a 3rd party to capture any equity. Can’t buy the lease out yourself to capture any equity. Rent charge is atrocious and makes it significantly more expensive to lease than to finance.

1 Like