2019 Volvo S90. Keep the paid off car or sell and get a new one?

I have a 2019 Volvo S90 which I bought (almost) new with 200 miles on it 2 years ago. The car was sitting on the lot for quite a while and I was able to buy it out of the door for 20k below MSRP (37500). I have been enjoying the car for the last 2 years and have put 19k miles on it. Except of few small issues (accelerated brake wear) the car has been great. It has all the bells and whistles I need. I appraised it few times and I have been offered up to 30k for it.
It seems that the used car market is cooling down. I think if I don’t sell the car within the next 1-2 month, the value is going to go down pretty quickly and in one year with 10k miles more, I might not even get 17 or 18k bucks for my car. In the same time, the new car market seem to recover. I called around and can get a either a BMW, Mercedes, Volvo or Audi around or below invoice.

My question for the experts: Shall I now sell and take advantage of the (still) high used car market and take the equity to buy a new car or shall I just drive my Volvo as long as I can to maximize the value. I have a cheap mechanical breakdown insurance which acts of sort of extended warranty, so from this point of view I am taken care of.

Any advice or thoughts would be highly appreciated

Sell, if you can get a good offer.

1 Like

Why not keep it? I have no payments and car is worry free. I am still going back and forth and have for both (keeping vs selling) lots of pros and cons.

Responding to your question is going to be a no-win situation for anyone except those who substantially value the same things you do, so it would help a lot to state your primary objective(s) behind your question.

One of my favorite posts here was made by someone who honestly and plainly stated that his wife wanted something flashy to be seen in when she dropped the kids off at school.