Did I get scammed? Spoiler Alert: NO

Hi All, I’m new to this forgive me in advance for all of the novice mistakes I’m about to lay down for you.
So I got to my Hyundai Dealer in the Bronx last night to test drive a car. I need something small, not fancy, not luxury, etc. I asked about the Veloster, the Kona, but they showed me the Elantra. I was happy with the size and the test drive was very basic so I was excited to be getting a car that was cheap and that would get me through weekends without using Uber or rental cars!
The dealer offered me 4 options for 36 months, 10k miles / year-
0 down - $185/month
OR (the following are rough estimates from my hazy memory)
750 down - $120 month
1750 down - $100 month
3900 down - $67/month

So, of course, I decide to take the basic Elantra for $0 down and $185 a month. So we continue the process, then I learn they have to add taxes and fees from the state, registration, dealer fees to drive off, etc… so my monthly payment is now $255/month for 36 months. Now, I’m finally registering my info online on MyHyundai.com, I’m learning there are other Elantra cars with more features for the rate that I was charged, and I’m kicking myself for not shopping around other dealers and other brands. Not sure what to do, if it’s too late? or if I can reverse any of this and fight it? Please help.

Scam? No. Ripped off? Maybe. You should have done your research before signing the contract.

18 Likes

Yup, what Jon said. I’m sure you could’ve gotten a lot better deal if you did your research, but enjoy it for the next 3 years and then stick around this forum and learn some stuff. I’ve learned a ton over the years on here. Very knowledgeable group.

1 Like

Unfortunately this is a case of buyers remorse. Enjoy the car, advertised prices you’re seeing are also +TTL. Glad you posted. In 36 months you will get a killer educated deal.

5 Likes