What went wrong with this quote for Chevy Equinox lease?

Dear Hackrs; First of all, this is an amazing site, and I am still learning the lease deals.

So, I started off with TrueCar app and found a dealer in the area that offer the price as:

2016 AWD LT
Base MSRP 28,200
Freight charge + 895
Total MSRP: +29,095

Certified Dealer MSPR Discount -2861
2016 Equinox Consumer Cash -750
2016 GM Bonus Cash -750
Guaranteed Savings -4361
Amex card member savings -250

Truecar Estimate 24,484

So, I thought the above price was decent compare to the Equinox thread, but then I got this email from the dealer:

Leasing you stock #C173883 for 24 months at 12000 miles per year you would be at $304 with no money out of pocket. If you would like to do your taxes and MVA fee’s up front which would be approx… $1500 your payment would drop to $249. I am basing this off of you living in Virginia

I’m located in VA, and wondering if you can tell me what went wrong with their quote and what I should be asking them?

thanks,
rod

I’m getting the same numbers as the dealer’s quote. The default TrueCar price includes incentives that are for cash purchases only. You will need to deselect those. The selling price of this car is $26,234 minus the $2,525 in lease incentives.

This quote differs from the sample because:

1. VA levies sales tax on the selling price of the car, rather than just the lease portion. 6% of $26,234 = $1,574

2. The residual for 12K mi/year is 1% lower. So that’s an extra ~$300.

3. No targeted incentives applied. If you’re currently leasing a non-GM car, that’s $1,500. Or try finding a website Private Offer; it’s good for $1,000.

The dealer’s selling price is actually pretty good. The biggest issue is VA sales tax and the lack of targeted incentives.

User jonwc89 commented the Equinox post saying he got a great deal at Chevy Rydell,
jonwc89 if you’re reading this please let me know who did you talk to! Thanks!