What are the rules for negotiating a price when incentives are already high?

Noob here. I recently have been perusing Edmunds for good deals on a lease. I came across some Jeeps that Edmunds has listed as “good” and “great” deals in my area. However, I noticed that the discount being applied is entirely through Jeep incentives and not through dealership discounts. The individual dealerships themselves show almost no discount.

If a manufacturer is giving out great incentives, how much room does that leave you to negotiate at the dealership? Should you negotiate as if there were no incentives, or should you treat it as if the incentives have already done most of the work for you?

Real world example, a vehicle’s MSRP is $30k and there are $4k on incentives. Edmunds recommends I pay $26k for the vehicle, after incentives. It implies that the $30k sticker price is a totally fair price that I shouldn’t have to negotiate. Is that true? Would a dealer laugh me out of the building if I try get the price down to $27k before incentives? Or is negotiating on top of manufacturer incentives still normal?

1 Like

Pretty much every single deal shared on this forum has discounts negotiated before incentives. Check out the Shared Deals section

1 Like

Look, there are 3 schools of thought on this

1. Greedy Dealer Perspective: "The customer is already receiving, $X in discounts! Why should I discount the car further because you’re already getting a GREAT DEAL?"
  2. Greedy Customer Perspective: “I, the customer, will completely ignore incentives and rebates in my negotiation so I don’t conflate the two, I want the dealer to give me at least Y% in DEALER discount to make sure that I’m getting the BEST price from the dealer. I can’t let them win.”