Using cargurus pricing as sales price / cap cost

Hi everyone,

Newbie here, first post, but could not find anything answering this question. Have seen a lot of posts mentioning using cargurus’ great price as a guide to the sales price for the lease. However, when searching for a lease in my area, if I am quoting a price based on the price history of the vehicle (at the same dealerships), the dealerships are outrightly declining such an offer. I understand the sales vs lease incentives are different, however how do you guys manage to utilize the car gurus price history / suggestions to structure your lease payments off of?
Thank you so much for your help!

Cargurus does breakdown the price and what incentives are included, and the price advertised there is the same as the dealer website and any other site the vehicle is listed on. Dealers pricing is usually updated once a day, they send the same info to all the sites. Cargurus is good for finding the days in stock info

I’d say in general the prices advertised on the web are nothing spectacular, in my market seems like the majority of discounts are less than the magically 10%

1 Like

I just hacked two high optined BMW 540i’s under $400 month 36/12. I’d recommend using autolist.com to locate a car. Set the range as far as your willing to travel. Locate a vehicle that’s been on the dealers lot a long time that you like and would enjoy driving. Negotiate discount off MSRP…the longer on the lot or in a loaner program the larger the discount. Then seek out all incentives you might be eligible for conquest or loyalty + grad + codes + supplier, and/or company. Check Edmunds.com for RV and MF. Be and stay informed throughout the process. I traveled from NC to GA for the right deal on the right cars.

3 Likes

CarGurus is most useful for tracking age of vehicle at that dealership. The longer a vehicle has been a dealership, maybe the great the chance for a deeper discount. Doesn’t always happen, though.