Understanding Money Factor Differences Between Lease Calculator and Dealership

This is obviously a newbie question and I’m still learning, so your patience is much appreciated! :slight_smile:

I have a couple of questions about using the lease calculator, specifically regarding how it populates lease terms like Residual Value and Money Factor for different manufacturers.

Here’s my situation: As a paid supporter, when I use the calculator and select a manufacturer, it automatically fills in details like the Residual and Money Factor. I’m curious about where these numbers come from and how reliable they are for use in negotiations.

For instance, the calculator indicates a money factor of 0.00053 for a 2023 Audi A6 Premium Select, but the dealer quotes me a money factor of 0.00093. That’s almost double and seems inflated. They also quote the residual as 48% when the calculator shows 51%. Should I confront (say something, mention something) the dealership about this discrepancy? Is it common for dealers to inflate these numbers, and how should I approach this in my negotiation?

Thanks in advance for your insights!

I believe the LH calculator provides the buy rate MF. That means there is no profit built in for the dealer AKA reserves. It appears that the dealer did mark up the money factor.

As far as confronting the dealer on the MF, I would request the buy rate if your credit is good (720+). This leads me to say that before you do…

Do yourself a big favor… educate yourself about the nuances of leasing. Lots of great info on this website (probably the best) and others. Next, create a target deal and, create a one-page comprehensive, professional-looking, flawless lease proposal similar to the one below.