Taxes on a Lease Transfer

, , , ,

I am interested in a lease transfer of BMW . The car I am interested in is registered to NY state. It’s more than a year old.

MSRP: $52000
Monthly payment (pre-tax): $400

I am a resident of the state of Virginia (20171). What taxes do I have to pay if I were to take over the lease .i.e., to get a VA title and registration? The sales tax for the car was already paid by the previous owner in NY.

I tried looking this online and there was no direct answer. It would be helpful if you can help me find this information. Thanks in advance.

P.S. I am aware of the BMW Transfer Fee (500$) and the Property Tax imposed on VA automobiles.

I found this thread from June which may help:

Sales Tax on Lease Takeover? NJ to VA

VERY slippery question to answer. Its a massive grey area. A few things,

1. You will pay $400 a month, if you are assuming a lease where sales tax is paid monthly you should talk to the company you are assuming the lease with. They will back the monthly sales tax out of the payment. Thats good news.
  2. With three different leases assumed from other states and registered in VA I literally had three different experiences.
    A. Assumed BMW lease from NY. BMW provided a letter saying tax was already paid and that I don’t owe anything. Person at the DMV never asked to see any proof of tax paid. Easy transaction no extra tax paid
    B. Another BMW assumed from another state. DMV person asked to see proof of tax paid, I show her the letter from BMW, no extra tax paid.
    C. Nissan assumed from another person in VA. No letter provided by NMAC. No extra tax paid, however she said if I purchased the car at the end of the lease I would have to pay VA sales tax.

In a nutshell, its a massive grey area and the DMV does not seem to know how to handle it. BMW seems to provide a letter saying tax was paid. Make sure you get that and you should be okay based on my experience.