Should I lease? If so, in Vegas or SoCal?

Hi! I’m new to leasing, I typically buy used cars. Looking at Toyota corolla or Honda civic, however I currently work from home and am unlikely to drive more than 4-5000 miles a year.

In researching leasing, I’ve read that you should buy, not lease cars like these, leasing is for up market brands. I’ve also read that leasing way more miles than you’ll use is stupid. Almost all deals I’ve seen are at 12k per year. However I’m hoping to get a salary job soon which may entail a commute (and also a raise which would allow me to jump up market for my next car in a couple years, which is one reason I’m looking to lease)

If I should lease, can I get a better deal in SoCal than here in Vegas? I suspect so since there are more dealers there. I’ve read that you can lease in one state and register in another but I’ve seen dealers here say no out of state deals.

I searched the forums for this info but didn’t find it.

Thanks for any advice!

While this is a leasing message board, nobody is here to convince you. It’s entirely up to you.

Many brands offer 7,500 mile leases, which sound like enough for your current needs, and possibly if you end up with a commute. A very common leasing mistake is not getting enough miles up front (see some recent posts about being 5000+ miles over).

Leasing isn’t really for any one category of car, you can lease just about anything. But many makes/models lease better than others. You need to decide if you are shopping the deal (most car for your money) or the car (best lease terms on X).