Santander Bank to pay $550M to settle subprime auto loan allegations

Here is the story from Jalopnick: https://jalopnik.com/subprime-auto-loan-giant-pays-550-million-after-charge-1843561031.

"Thirty-three states and the District of Columbia accused Santander of extending loans that were too big relative to borrowers’ incomes, charging excessive fees and failing to monitor dealership loan-approval practices.

California Attorney General Xavier Becerra said Santander profited by extending high-interest loans to buyers “who were doomed from the start” to default.

The settlement includes $65 million of restitution for consumers. It also involves some $433 million in loan forgiveness, including for customers who have had cars repossessed but still owe money to Santander."

Full disclosure: I have been banking with Santander for more than 15 years (I signed up for an account when they were called Sovereign Bank). I have never taken out an auto loan loan with them, but this is crazy.

1 Like

Santander is always known for that. Not surprising

Note that if Santander had not made these awful loans, Becerra would have sued them for not helping the “underserved,” or “California’s most vulnerable” who “lack access to credit.”

6 Likes

It was originally sued by NJ and PA AGs. Others joined later.

Satan der Deserves to be sued They are the devil :imp: of subprime.

3 Likes

I am curious to hear if anyone (on LH) was a victim of these sub prime lending practices.

There’s an old saying: You can’t rape the willing.

3 Likes

I hear what you are saying, but reading a news story is one thing and hearing directly from folks about their personal experiences is another thing.

Folks are free to comment or not comment as they wish.

This should be on the front page of every forum. So people know. :wink:

It’s been your MO for a while to try to derail any thread you don’t personally agree with.

If you wanna be a troll, I’ll delete your posts. Again.

2 Likes