Rolling negative equity into a lease for EV

I’m new to this and in FL. I have a 22 Tahoe LT that i owe about 54k on with a 3.99% interest rate. Brought it brand new in 2022, at which time I also purchased extended warranties from the dealer for an extra 7k ish. I ended up leaving my great paying job at that time for personal reasons, and I canceled the warranties and basically pocketed the checks as a cushion because I was unsure how long my job search would be.

Flash forward to now, I’m needing to get my payments lower as I’m going through a separation and financially will no konger by able to afford on just my salary plus all other expenses. I’ve been looking into leasing, and it seems every dealer is offering me 46-47k on my Tahoe. Carvana and Carmax are the same

I’m just looking for advice on how to handle this negative equity plus also lower the payments of $983 a month. Im open to hearing any suggestions. I don’t have that much extra cash(2k max) to throw out to eat up the negative equity either so feeling stuck.

Ideally I’d like to keep in the SUV range, doesnt need to be full size but im also exploring EV because of the rebates im seeing.

Maybe a base Grand Cherokee 4xe OR A mazda CX90 PHEV could take on the negative equitywith @AutoNinjas or @AutoCompanion with the ev credit and a bunch of rebates… though that may be less in FL. An EV like the BZ4X has the highest rebates now to soak up that negative equity but is a huge step down from a Tahoe.

1 Like

OP, if you want bz4x, make sure you check its limitation and see if it can fit your driving needs. Lexus RZ is another option as well. Other ev are Ariya n Ioniq5 with better range n charging needs. Nevertheless, all those ev are also smaller than your Tahoe.

I am okay with smaller. The Tahoe was a splurge at the time. It’s just my daughter and I. The space was nice, but not a necessity.