Putting a Deposit to lock in lease deal

I’m new to leasing/buying, so pardon my ignorance, but is there any way I can put some sort of deposit down to hold a car for me before I can look at it, once shelter in place orders are up on May 4th? I would like for the deposit to be refundable in the event that I find something like a large scratch, or a dent, or even a tear in the upholstery as it is a demo car. Does this sound like something a dealer would be willing to do?

You can, but you’re at their mercy as to whether or not they’d refund it. Often times once you agree to the numbers, dealers will ask for a non-refundable deposit to hold the car for you. You can always talk to the salesperson about it being refundable if something changes in the numbers or if you discover something wrong with the car. They may even be more flexible given the current situation with COVID.

1 Like

This is somewhat state dependent. Some states don’t allow for non-refundable deposits.

dukez, I’m seeing you everywhere on these forums! I guess thats true, do you know what a deposit normally looks like? e.g. Acquisition fee +1st month, or something like that. For reference this is in Massachusetts.

I don’t think there’s a reason to put a deposit these days. Cars are not flying off the shelves and it does not seem like you’re shopping for a collectible.

I have awoken :wink:.

I’ve seen $500 deposits and I’ve also seen them ask for a deposit equal to the drive offs. I think it’s just dealer/salesperson dependent. I will say that I have very seldom seen a car get picked up from beneath me, so not sure how crucial a deposit would really be, especially right now.

I wasn’t aware so this is good info!

I doubt they want to hold a car for a month. This is really a smoking deal that is worth the effort of messing with a deposit?

2 Likes

It’s more of an issue of a number of things lining up:

1. It’s a decent deal
  2. It’s not too far away from me