Owe 6500 in taxes. EV for the rescue? PHEV?

, , , , ,

Hello All,

Ive been working overseas for the past two years and I didn’t know you have to pay taxes while you’re in another country so I Just filed for the past 3 years and now I owe $6500 rather than paying that I was thinking of leasing or buying an EV to get that tax Credit because I just simply can’t pay the 6500 at the moment.

Are there any dealers that have 0 drive off AND will not use the 7500 towards the lease deal?

I was looking at the Toyota bz4x they have a 0 drive off deal at only 189 a month for a 2023 or 219 for a 2024.

So should I buy a used Tesla or whatever for less than 25k so I can get 4k tax credit (not POS credit) and pay 2500 out of pocket?
Buy a new EV and get 7500 off? even though the depreciation on EVs is massive??

Also how long do you have to keep the car for? If I already filed my taxes do I do an amendment? Or just hold off till next year?

ANY AND ALL SUGGESTIONS ARE WELCOME. THANK YOU!!!

So let me get this straight, to avoid paying $6500 on your IRS taxes you plan to buy a car (Not Lease) as it would allow you to deduct $7500 on your taxes.

1. You can’t file the $7500 until next year
  2. A Lease doesn’t use the IRS rules so that doesn’t help you.
4 Likes

Talk to a tax pro, not a car-shopping public.

2 Likes

ooh this’ll be a fun one

8 Likes

Thanks for the clarification.
I wasn’t sure if credits were just on buying since they mention the 7500 credit in the fine print on lease but forced into cap costs… I thought maybe negotiable.

Tax guy wouldn’t know the ins and outs about lease deals so I figured the lease pros would know.

Always

The IRS will setup a payment plan. You don’t have to write a check. And yes you can always amend but doesn’t always make sense. See :point_up_2:t2::point_up_2:t2:

If you have $6500 in tax liability you can offset that using a section 30 purchase, it’s a very short list of phevs and a short list of evs