Open Road BMW lost my winter tires and refuses to take responsibility - looking for advice

Funny, yet sad story, looking on advice how to address before resorting to lawsuits.

I bought my winter tires from OpenRoad BMW of Edison few years ago and they’ve been storing them for me ever since, i’d visit twice a year to swap back and forth. They changed management and moved, so when I showed up they not only said they can’t find my tires, but also said they have no records of my tires ever being there in the first place. I dug up a bunch of old receipts but they’re relentless in disclaiming all responsibility.

I’m an attorney and 100% planning to sue them, but hoping for some advice for a more efficient outcome

1 Like

What about your service advisor? Do you have receipts of the swap specifically or were they charging for storage? Any email records? I would think you needed to to deal with someone there to get them stored, so unless that person is gone I would try to get them to vouch for you. Regardless, I’d pursue this doggedly, because that’s ridiculous. How high up the ladder have you gone yet?

Open Road is absolute trash (pull up the ongoing class action suit to see how they treated their staff during the opening of the pandemic).

7 Likes

They moved, changed management and seemingly all staff. I actually reached out to the former service manager Jim and my former advisor Brian, who both promised to talk to current management to vouch for me, but it didn’t help.

They never charged me for storage. I had a long relationship with OpenRoad, so Craig - the former GM offered to store them as a courtesy. It also means I go there twice a year to swap so I figure it’s a win/win for them. But it also means I don’t have a receipt for storage - something I never thought i’d need