Newbie - getting overwhelmed with the choices available

Hello,

I’m a complete newbie and a bit overwhelmed. I’m trying to figure out my first step.

I’ve been reading the 101 articles and going through the forums so I think I generally get the idea of how to work with getting a lease. I have leased cars in the long ago in the past so I’m not totally unfamiliar with it. The calculator is a great help and I know if I study it more, I’ll get it down.

I’ve usually bought used Maximas, I leased a Mazda 626 (20 years ago), and now I have a 14-year-old Avalon that I really like, but will give to my daughter for school. I think the best route for me is to lease a car, since I don’t do much driving.

Here’s where I get overwhelmed… I don’t know exactly where to begin in choosing a car. I think I’d stick with the Avalon, but looking quickly at Toyota’s site they are $349 for 36 months with $2,999 at signing. I’d like the monthly to be $300 or under and a lot less down. When I go through the Leasehackr’s site (which is really helpful) there are some deals (like the Lexus UX 250h Hybrid SUV for $283/Month - which I know expired April 30th, and I didn’t read the fine print) and others. Since I am not particularly set on a specific car, if I saw a great deal like that, even though I never drove a Lexus UX, I’d probably run to the dealership, try it out to be sure and then work on getting that deal. The same goes for any great deal.

So where do I start? Do I start by finding the great deal or by knowing the car(s) I want? At the risk of sounding like a whiner, and someone who doesn’t want to put in the time/work to get a good deal, I don’t think I have time to try every single car out there.

Also, my understanding so far is that if I know the car or have narrowed them down to a few choices that I’d be happy with, then it is that better if I decide to work with a broker? If that is how brokers work - I’m still reading about using a broker, so pardon my ignorance.