Need advice on 2016 Volvo XC90 lease buyout

I’m a total newbie to leasing (first time with a lease) and need expert advice. My 2016 Volvo XC90 lease ends at the end of June and I am torn about my options. I am thinking of purchasing the car at lease end but have some questions:

1. Am I able to further negotiate the price (residual) down with VCFS? The buyout price is actually pretty good (approx. $30K) vs. what I see in market ($32K).
  2. Is there a way to negotiate an extended warranty? I’ve never had issues with the car but want to make sure I have some coverage.

I know this isn’t the best thing to do from a financial perspective but really like the car and don’t want to deal with the hassle of negotiating for a purchase of a new car.

You can call VCFS and ask. Don’t hold your breath though. You signed an agreement that included your buyout price, should you choose to go down that path. Would you agree to 10/month more at month 8 because Volvo wanted more money, even though they are contractually locked in at your current monthly?

What do you mean “Negotiate” an extended warranty? As in price? There’s some wiggle room there, yes. Don’t expect a 6 year/100k warranty for 200 bucks though.

1 Like

They’re not going to negotiate the buyout price. You signed a contract agreeing to pay it, and thus that is what you pay.

The only times that I can think of buyouts being negotiated is G1 Volts (and that was an outside bank). Absolutely nothing else.

2 Likes

NMAC was negotiating on first gen Versas too, as they weren’t worth much at the end of the 3 year lease in real world numbers. They were taking a bath.

1 Like

How would I go about getting an extended warranty from Volvo via the buyout? Do I contact the dealer for that or VCFS?

I believe this is the 1st year of the newer model XC90 but the value seems to be doing ok, I guess. The car (knock on wood) hasn’t had any issues and I do really like it so performance is holding.