Need a lease in VA

I am in need of second car. I drive around 70 miles per week day. I am new to leasing. I need a car below 200/month with zero down including taxes. Please advise.

Thanks

That’s gonna limit your options, especially since VA taxes the entire price of the car up front on a lease. I would toss out the Spark EV as an option, but VA residents can’t lease one. Plus that would be pushing up against its range with your 70 mile commute.

Maybe something like a Chevy Cruze/Corolla would fit your budget.

18,200 miles per year and you want to lease? Not sure that is the best idea.

A Jetta or Cruze may work if you qualify for the plethora of GM incentives and have GM credit card points.

A used 4-5 year old car in the $10k range might actually be a better option. With a 4 year loan, you are looking at around $250/month. I know a guy that’s selling a 2011 Volt with 80k miles on it for $10k. Free delivery to anyone within 1,000 miles of PA.

So realistically you drive over 20k miles per year? I really don’t think that can be done for 200/mo. And you’ll be paying for a lot of maintenance items on a car that you don’t actually own. You should consider buying something used with low miles or new with a great price and financing terms. Aim for a short loan term, because you’ll be underwater pretty fast on a 5+ year loan at that mileage.

Or buy a $500 beater and hope it lasts for more than 2 months!

Step 1, look at lease trader/swap sites, look for something with about a year left with 20K miles remaining…Got to be quick since they don’t last long…

Step 2, Blitz local dealers and ask about cars with low MSRPs that were demos…

Step 3, Strongly consider the advice here and looking into used…Heck, even a Nissan Versa can be had for cheap and gets fairly good MPG…

If you must lease something new: