Mitigation of layoff impact in Seattle and Norcal

Given all the layoffs, discretionary spending will significantly go down in the two areas. How do we think it will impact luxury car market? Are dealers in those areas starting to push discounts to hedge risks?

1 Like

Although I do not work for any of the FAANGs / MAANGs, I work in Tech. Seeing all these layoffs is pretty concerning, but at the same time, it tells me that some of these companies overhired.

Regarding the car market, I doubt dealers are going to massively discount BMWs, MBs, Audis, etc. I’m in the Northeast, so not sure what the market looks like on the West Coast.

4 Likes

PNW, like Colorado are kind of in their own little island as far as markets go.

I don’t think you’ll see much movement.

2 Likes

I’m sure the demand in NorCal will drop, then dealer will react accordingly. I remembered after the financial crisis I took my Rx to service and they service literally cost 60% of what they used to charge.

1 Like

BMW is already around 8-10% off MSRP which is close to prior. I think our 530e was 12% off MSRP a few years back. The problem is there is limited manufacture incentives and the rates suck.

13 Likes

I am sure just as tech overhired, dealers over bought (took allocation). Holding costs have to add up at some point.

2 Likes

You are correct, that happened even before the layoffs, my local dealer had lots of X7 and X5 available even a few months ago.

Yeah there’s definitely dealers that are playing the allocation buying game to beef up their future allocations.

They’re gonna have to play ball if they want to keep those numbers.

Yep just trimming the fat. Inflation numbers are coming down (so they say) so the likelihood of soft landing rises everyday. Labor market still seems strong. The weakness will be in lower income sector.

We have recently seen a spike in clients circumventing brokers so perhaps that’s a valuable metric :thinking: :laughing:

Edit: Meant to respond to bluemkn