Lexus RZ450e Southern California Lease Advice Needed

Hi All,

I am in Southern California (tax rate 8.75%) and I am interested in leasing the LexusRZ450e Premium. Lexus currently has $15,000 (taxable?) lease cash discount. I already tested drive and like the car (MSRP $62,500-ish) very much, so I already decided to buy it either at the end of the lease or within a couple months (refinancing with my credit union 5.85%).

This is my first time buy/lease a car from dealer. I have tried to watch YouTube and Google but the lease concept/calculation is still very intimidating since I am not accounting/engineer major. I visited two dealers.

Dealer 1: Recommended put 0 down; offered $5K below MSRP, suggested 10K miles 36 months lease with MF 0.00324
Dealer 2: Recommended put $5K down; offered $7K below MSRP, suggested 7.5K miles 27 months lease with MF 0.00424
The residual is within $500 between the two offers.

Since I already decided to own the car, from the total cost perspective, should I refinance and do the buyout ASAP or just wait until the lease end? Also, which option (dealer 1 or 2) offer should I pursue?

Please advise. Thank in advance!
P.S. I did try the LEASEHACKR CALCULATOR but gave up :blush:

isnt @Jeff_BeachCitiesAuto doing 6k off? + buyrate

just buy it as soon as it funds so you do not each the rent charge

1 Like

Just make sure that they are taking $5k or $7k off msrp before $15k in incentives. If you absolutely have to have it, definitely buy it out as soon as you get your account number

If your goal is to buy it out, do NOT wait until the end of the lease. Do it within 1 week. If you wait until the end of lease to buy, the car becomes a lot more expensive. For me, I leased the car to get 15k rebate, within 1 week, I opened the Lexus online account to get a buyout price. Go to your bank/credit union and request a refinance. The bank will pay Lexus the buyout price and the car becomes a financed car… no longer a lease. This is the way to do it