International student(Graduate) from University of Michigan looking to lease a compact SUV

I’m new to this awesome community of LH, I’m an international student in Michigan, currently on the lookout for a compact SUV lease. My budget, including insurance, is $500, and I can make a down payment of up to $1000.

If anyone has suggestions or insights on affordable options within these parameters, I would be grateful for your advice.
Thank you in advance.

Then you aren’t getting one. Insurance for a new driver is going to run you at least $200/m, then add your car Monthly of at least $300 and you are going past $500 fast.

Go for a nice used car.

2 Likes

Is it, that’s sad . I really thought I can secure a lease within my budget, after following this amazing community. Think I’ll look into used car markets from now on.

If you weren’t a new driver, then it’s easy to get $500/m but because of ‘new driver’ they are going to charge you a lot for a new car insurance.

1 Like

You might be able to get a lease if you do a maximum of 24 months, you have a scholarship (proves income, even if it technically covers tuition), and you can do a one pay. But that would mean having at least $7200 to do the one pay. Then insurance will put you back quite a bit (even if you’re in grad school and older, and have had a foreign license for a while; some insurance companies will consider foreign driving experience, but you’d still be looking at a high premium).

1 Like

I’m new to this , sorry for this noob question. In a hypothetical scenario What’s the max rate insurance company can be asking me(new driver) to pay for 40k car ?

Roughly? $3000-4000 yr

1 Like

Yep I do have driving experience back in my country, can you name few companies, that usually considers that experience ?

Is it safe to assume that you have little to no credit (history)? If so, that would be another immediate thorn.

1 Like