ID4 Lease to Buy Questions (NorCal)

I have included a picture of the current dealer lease promo for the ID4 Pro ($349/mo, $4999 DAS, 36mo/10k miles per year).

Am I entering this into the calculator correctly? The $7500 post-sales incentive is from CVRP.
Would buying out a lease immediately affect CVRP eligibility in any way?
How would I go about estimating the buyout price for this?

I can almost guarantee this is a terrible offer, and I don’t know anything about the market for this car.

How? It’s an ad with a teaser payment and a bunch of mouse print.

2 Likes

I have no intention of actually leasing the car, hence the buyout. Am I wrong in assuming that this is a valid way of getting the $7500 fed ev tax credit that I wouldn’t otherwise qualify for?

There’s been other discussions on here of immediate buyouts on the id4. I’m no expert on the process, but I am also looking into the id4 in norcal right now. Only 2 things I would note:

1. look for a dealer discount on top of the EV credit. I’ve seen bay area dealers advertising $4500 off MSRP on their website! So I imagine you could go even further than that

2. some of the credits will be lost to the various lease fees (acquisition/dispostion) but its still a great deal if you can stack the extra discount

And my only question - do buyouts even make sense when loan rates are around 6%, and VW’s current MF is .002 which is 4.8% apr? Honest question - not sure how to do the math on that. Unless you’re paying cash of course, then it’s clear (I just can’t relate because I don’t have $40k sitting around to throw at a car haha)

1 Like