Hyundai "single pay" lease contract and total loss

Hey guys. We will be signing a Hyundai single pay lease agreement tomorrow for an Ioniq 5 limited. I have been trying hard to figure out what happens if the vehicle is totaled before the end of the lease. We finally have the contract and my wife and I have read it in detail. I am an attorney and she is a CFO so we are used to complicated legal language. I have attached the relevant portions of the contract. It is essentially the same as the traditional Hyundai lease except for the “early termination” provision.

The language is very complicated and we think any reasonable judge or arbitrator would award the lessee a pro-rata share of their payments back if they fulfilled the insurance requirement and the payout equals or exceeds the residual value.

We think Hyundai would voluntarily return the pro-rata share of the up front payments if the insurance payout equals or exceeds the residual value.

In the unlikely event that the gap insurance kicks in, we believe Hyundai would take the position that no portion of the up front payment would be reimbursed. Really the only way the gap insurance would apply would be towards the latter portion of the lease, a 36 month or longer lease, the insurance company puts an unreasonably low value on the total loss or something causes the value of the I5 to plummet.

I believe a reasonable arbitrator would find the language ambiguous and rule in favor of the lessee in the following situation: the insurance loss payout is less than the residual and the gap insurance kicks in. There are enough months remaining on the lease that the pro-rata share of the up front payments exceeds the amount paid out by the gap insurance. We think Hyundai would refuse to refund under this situation and you would have to go to arbitration to get your up front cash back.