How to qualify for GM Financial Lease Extension

Hi folks, first time here. Anyway I just got off the phone with GM Financial lease end department. Based on what I read here and elsewhere, I asked for a lease extension on my 2016 Chevy Spark. I have plenty of miles left so don’t need anything except the ability to keep paying the same 140 a month for as long as possible. She asked why I needed the extension and I told her to keep the monthly payment and I have extra miles. The woman said that I didn’t “qualify” for a lease extension, and wouldn’t give any more information than that. Anyone here have recent experience on what a qualifying reason for a GM Financial lease extension is? She did say they changed there policy in January.

Thanks for the help!

I have no GM experience, But for FCA they told me that I need to have a stock number for my next vehicle in the Chrysler family to be able to extend up-to 6 months until my new car arrived. Obviously didn’t have that so my fiat’s go back in September

You need a better explanation than you want low payments or you want to use up your miles.

Tell them something like you are waiting for the 2019/ 2020 model inventory to build so that your dealer can get you a XYZ model with the newly available ABC option. Do some research to make your case.

If you have any late payments or a less than perfect credit score you may be automatically disqualified

3 Likes

I just extended for the 3rd time on my 17 equinox. Basically it’s max 3 x 2month Extension total 6 months max. No extra miles. You have to have 2 “reasons” so one was “ negotiating new lease” (used twice) and second was “waiting on paperwork to clear on next purchase”.

2 Likes

Did the monthly payment stay the same? Or did that change with the extension ?

I originally did a one pay of 3800$ for 24mo. The extended months were calculated @116/mo

Just realized that’s way better than my original! Didn’t even notice.