How best to use $9,500 lease cash + $4,500 CVRP

Hi all, just joined today, first-time poster

I am trying to help my sis who just qualified for a trade-your-old-car program here in CA

You get $9,500 of lease cash, but only for pure EV (BEV) or plug-in hybrid EVs (PHEV)

Any advice on a best-case scenario for using this cash? (she also qualifies for the $4,500 CVRP rebate on 30-month+ leases)

My short list:

• Kia Soul EV
  • Ford Focus EV
  • Nissan Leaf EV
  • BMW i3 (EV or REX PHEV)
  • Chevy Volt PHEV
  • Chevy Bolt EV

I ran the calculator on a couple of these (Ford / Nissan) and it seems like she could go negative? (i.e. the $9,500 pay-down is more than the depreciation). What happens in a scenario like this? Is that money “lost”?

Sorry if these are dumb questions, as I am new to this

Thanks all!

What is her commute like and does she have the ability to install or access a charging network?

I believe you can use the 9500 for purchase as well…

1 Like

Welcome @topaz024, I will let the pros chime in but with that sizable amount of $ you could look at some even nice plug-in hybrids. 330E, 530E, audi E-tron etc

2 Likes

As mung35 says really depends on how she will use the car and whether she has a place to charge the car.

If you are going BEV in most cases you will want to install a level 2 charger which will cost you $1,500 to $2,000 though you might get some rebates on that depending on where you are.

My wife and I just went through this and ended up with the BMW i3 REX. But that might not be the right car for your sister. We couldn’t do a BEV for various reasons which excluded most of the cars on your list.

It really does come down to the use case for the car. With that amount of money she can almost certainly have a free lease and probably several thousand in her pocket in a few months with the CVRP rebate.

1 Like

just for my edification, whats the program that gives you $9500?

@mung35