High weight of EVs posing a danger?

Disclaimer: I’m not an engineer, etc.

I’ve always thought that, at a minimum, the increased mass of BEVs is really inelegant (b/c more range requires more batteries which increases weight which presumably also adversely affects range).

I had never much considered the safety implications, although perhaps that’s b/c EV pickups weren’t a thing until recently. I do think it’s an issue worth looking at.

I am completely confused, however by this

Setting up a charging network to accommodate that may be a mistake from a safety perspective, Brooks said.

Wouldn’t setting up a charging network reduce range anxiety and thus allow for EVs to need “less” battery (and thus reduce weight)?

So Heavy cars hit lighter cars harder?

Not news.

3 Likes

Of course it’s an issue. Hummer ev weighs 9000 lbs and goes 0-60 in 3 seconds. The ability to rapidly obtain kinetic energy and momentum given that performance to weight ratio is ridiculous. People are going to be running them through buildings and etc.

6 Likes

No, but one assumes that average driver is going to have much more ready access to car weighing significantly more (and having significantly more power) than they are used to, so this is a newish issue.

Many (most?) modern cars have pretty bad visibility and mask “physical” indicators of speed well, so drivers may not realize how fast they’re driving.

Truck drivers are trained to handle their large and heavy cars. Average driver, not so much…

There’s a reason the Trabant had a 6 gallon fuel tank. :wink:

As for me, I want all the range I can get and if that means a literal ton of batteries on board then it is what it is.

1 Like

So you are saying all those people who bought huge F-150s or Tundras are trained better than the average EV driver? That’s why I said ‘Not News’. If they said ‘the battery is a huge fire risk’ then , well ok it is, but Weight?

1 Like

No, I meant people who drive commercial trucks.

1 Like