High mileage lease (22k mi/yr) analysis

Hi all,

First-time potential lessee here.

I drive about 25k miles/yr and always thought that I would have to buy my next car.

I recently went to a Volvo dealer where the salesperson showed me that if I leased a car today and paid the extra 10,000 miles/yr over a standard 15k mi lease (at 20 cents/mile), and then decided to buy the car at the end of the lease for its residual value, then the total of all of my payments plus the residual would actually be LESS than the cost of purchasing the car today in cash.

I couldn’t believe this to be true until he showed me the math. Granted I am not a lease expert but after looking at the numbers at home, it seems that the math is sound.

At the end of 3 years, I want to turn in the car, I could. If I want to buy it, I get a great deal. What would be the downside (if any) of leasing versus buying in this case?

I padded the mileage - I probably drive closer to 21 or 22k per year but he ran the numbers at 25k just to be safe.

Yeah at the end of your financing term you still have a car that’s worth X amount of dollars. That’s the catch. At the end of your lease term, you have to get a loan with X amount of interest added on or you can pay cash that might be worth it.

The reasons to lease are if you use low mileage, want a new car every 3 years without having to deal with maintenance, and don’t want to tie up capital in a new purchase that could be used better elsewhere.

2 Likes

Show us this math. I highly doubt it’s there advantage to lease a car over purchasing when driving 25k/yr.

maybe ask @buster11xx about high milage leases…he claims he’s done it many times

2 Likes

Thanks for the responses. I should clarify a few things:

1. The car purchase would be cash, so there would be no financing charges.
  2. The money factor on this car is .00001, so it’s practically zero