Getting out of 21' RAV4 lease

Hi all! Back in late October I was driving a 2012 Benz GLK350 and I had absolutely horrible gas mileage and the repairs were killing me. I had a bad credit score and decided to go out and get a new car. I tried multiple dealerships until one finally approved me with the credit score I had. Of course it had to be Toyota … Fast forward to leasing the car I was asked if I wanted all these protections (resist-all wax, wheel and tire protect, excess ware and tear) I said no to all of course. I also said no to this random insurance thing. Since my payments were high with my credit score being bad, I decided to put 4,500 down and my payment was still 450 a month. I obviously agreed to that and drove home with a smile because finally a dealer let me lease a car from them. Fast forward 7 months and this car is obsurdly slow, too small, and honestly isn’t a good image for me as I’m a realtor and a lot of clients see luxury cars as a image for you.

Deciding I want to get rid of the car, I obviously thought I could and went onto carvana, they offered me $29,100. Which I thought! Heck yes! I’ll be getting money back. After making about 7 payments which is roughly $3,000 and putting down $4,500 I thought I’d easily be getting money back since the cars msrp I’m leasing is 33k. Well I come to find out the dealership took ALL of my $4,500 and used that towards the random ass protections I said no to and they said they were going to throw in for free.

So now I am sitting here, out $4,500 and sitting with a car in my driveway that I am not happy to drive and have to pay upwards or more of $1000 to get out of.

What should I do?

Details
2021 Toyota RAV4 XLE AWD
MSRP: $33,500
Payment: $440
Downpayment: roughly $4.9k ??
36/10k

This is about to get real ugly

31 Likes

You are so right sir.

2 Likes

Try Vroom, Carvana, etc but it doesn’t sound like there is much you can do if you don’t want to pay out of pocket to get out.