Deal Check: CX90 Premium Plus PHEV

, , ,

Lease newbie here. Have looked on other posts here as well but still a bit confused. We have not leased a vehicle before but since we would not qualify for the 7500 credit otherwise and since we live in DC and it has lower taxes for hybrids, we are considering leasing the CX90 PHEV Premium Plus with one pay buyout.

I spoke to a dealer here in MD, and they showed me the comparisons which said that buying would still be cheaper even with the 7500 credit (for the Premium Plus). It was 800 for 36 months no money down with a residual of around 35,800. We planned to do a one payment lease then buy but was told would still need to make the full lease payment so would be (64,600 v. ~58k with buying). Does this sound right or are we missing something? Should it not be cheaper if we are paying it off after one payment?

36months - 800 payment, no money down

Manufacturers Suggested Retail Price 58,825.00
Discount 3,150.00
Rebate 7,500.00
Adjusted Price 48,175.00
Doc Fee 500.00
Tax 820.00
Non Tax Fees 1,032.00
Balance 50,527.00

Buying:

Manufacturers Suggested Retail Price 58,825.00
Discount 3,150.00
Adjusted Price 55,675.00
Doc Fee 500.00
Tax 1,685.25
Non Tax Fees 462.00
Cash Deposit .00
Balance 58,322.25

Ive never seen a dealer actually get the buyout terms correct and understand that you do not pay the sum of the remaining payments plus rv.

Thanks, I was confused by that as well. I cant imagine they have not run into this before but the one lease payout seemed to be new to this person. Another Mazda dealership which was terrible (sleazy sales manager) offered a much higher price but said the same thing so wanted to confirm. Thanks again.

You would think.

It is mindblowing how clueless they usually are about the contract terms of the contracts they’re pushing.

No the dealer is incorrect.